Timeless Enemy

StockSnap_DJWZ40JPWN
“Is there such a thing as an absolute, timeless enemy? There is no such thing, and never has been. And the reason is that our enemies are human beings like us. They can only be our enemies in relative terms.”
A quote i picked up from a game I was playing. Somehow I could relate to this at some level. I’ve made a hefty lot of friends in my lifetime and I’ve also made enemies along the way. But why was I an enemy to them? Why did we treat each other as such? Is it because at some point in time one of us got rubbed the wrong way? Was it something that happened that led to this hatred to the other? Or was it clashing of norms and ideals and the failure to acknowledge each other’s opinion?
Regardless of the reason I remember them. Reckon each circumstance like a vivid dream. From mere acquaintance to close friend and back to strangers again. Each time people come and go I keep the experience with each individual close to my heart. It is true that it is easy to forgive but hard to forget. These people that were once my friends now branded me a heretic to their beliefs.
But I could not blame them. I’ve always stood my ground and fought for what I believed in. I am a person that usually deviates from the norms. wanting to see things from a different angle. But most of the time I get misunderstood and you probably know where it is headed. Such is the irony of wanting to be unique.
But no matter how severe the cause was, I could not bring myself to hate forever. Time heals everything. When I cross paths with a person that wronged me in the past, or in most cases I have wronged him, the hate had already subsided. Its former shell that houses this emotion now replaced with a veil of longing. Wanting to be friends again.
Of course there will always be the fact that things will never be the same again. The wounds of the past that once broke the foundation of friendship now has become scars that melded this foundation back to its former glory. These scars are reminders that even the strongest of bonds can also break if enough force is applied to it.
It is in our nature as humans to destroy each other. But love and compassion is what stops us from doing so. If you are for some reason an enemy of mine and have read this, Know that I have forgiven you and I have let go of past grudges I had against you.
What ya say?

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close