Roadtrip

I had only began to dream. But I awoke to the sudden stop of the bus that i rode a few hours ago from my home to a destination that is unfamiliar to me. Why am I travelling? Where am I going? When am I coming back? What am I getting myself into?

All these thoughts briefly took me back to a flashback of a conversation that I had with a friend. She once told me that she loved travelling a lot. Taking a ride and get lost in the middle of nowhere. The thrill of seeing new places and meeting new people. Eating food that is out of this world and writing stuff about it.

I never really understood why she was into that a lot. Why want to go somewhere far away and have fun when you can do it all here, where you live? Sure I get the part of change of scenery. But sitting hours on a bus with obnoxious passengers, sitting on uncomfortable seats, and the risk of accidents on the road mortifies me a lot.

But then I remembered one thing she told me. “I just wanted to get away from it all, even just for a while”

A gush of sudden realization flooded my mind. The reason I took this trip. I had a lot of mishaps at home that pushed me to distance myself from it all, “even for just a little while.”

I saw a reflection of myself on the glass window and it gave me a smirk on my face. I left the bus and surveyed my surroundings. Maybe she had the same reason when she took one of her apparent travels to the unknown. She needed a distraction, a place where she could find herself. Ironic that i once ridiculed the idea of it and now finding myself treading down the same path.

And so i walked. Not knowing what to expect or what outcome will be. I ventured to personally uncharted places and tried to make the best of it. As awkward as it was I was doing it. Like getting lost in a maze of moral relativism. But for what its worth, I had fun.

My only problem now is… How do i get back?

What ya say?

